Friday, April 3, 2009

Barack, Beliefs, and Beginnings

Friday, April 3rd, 2009

OBAMA, BARACK [Gave the Queen an iPod]

Okay. So, a lot of people have been flipping their eyelids at President Obama with a usual grunt of ‘Ugh!’ when it comes to the things he’s been up to. They elected him, first thing he says is ‘Hey! I can’t change until you RE-elect me.’ And then his wife hugs the Queen, big faux-pas and they give her an iPod? Like..wtf? You think she doesn’t have fifteen billion of them already? I’d give her a puppy. Or a unicorn. Maybe a pirate slave to do her bidding.

Anyway, I was thinking about it. This is mostly due to that wretched [just kidding, I loved getting to read so many articles from my favorite authors!!] YA for Obama site. You see, my family was very ‘VOTE FOR MCCAIN OR BAD THINGS WILL HAPPEN’ and people were all ‘BUT PALIN SHOOTS MOOSE FROM A HELICOPTER’ and I was all ‘...WHO FREAKING CARES? SHE HAS TO LIVE, YOUKNOW.’

And I finally came to the conclusion. That even in a year, Mr. President can’t do that much. He’s still learning the lay of the land. Think about it like a new computer. Your old one was nice, but the new one? SO FREAKING SHINY. AND WONDERFUL. But you have to learn where everything is. And how to use it. And if you change anything, even though you’d really like to, you don’t want to mess anything up just yet.

Or even think about it like Wife Swap. They swap houses for two weeks, those wives, and they have to follow the rules completely until they finally get their turn to change things around. So maybe Mr. President has to hang tight for awhile until he’s ALLOWED to change things up. Or even, think about it like a fish tank. If you upgrade to a better tank, but you don’t let the water de chlorinate for 24 hours before adding the fish, BAD STUFF CAN HAPPEN. So I’m thinking that he HAS to hang out for awhile until:
He knows where things are.
He knows how things work.
We get used to him being there.

Maureen Johnson, Tamora Pierce, John Green, Libby Bray, Meg Cabot--all those authors said that Obama totally rocks. And I’m really apt to believe them. It’s kind of like when I asked my mother to name one good and bad thing about McCain and Obama. The first thing she brings up is the Christian way and how McCain didn’t want to ban Christianity and all this mushygushy stuff that made no sense. I didn’t learn anything from listening to her. Then again, I was in the car and we were driving and I probably wouldn’t have listened anyway. I’m a democrat, this is true, but when everyone is saying ‘Vote McCain!’ because they think Obama is either going to get shot, murdered, or turn into a dictator, I’m going to go ahead and vote McCain.

My cousin works for the Secret Service. He’s probably not even my cousin. He’s my mother’s cousin. We’re family--whatever. He hates to work for Obama. And it’s because since he’s ‘black’, there are a LOT of people that want him gone. And I’m not saying that I’m one of them. Because I’m not. I’m saying that it’s those conservatives that you hear/see/know about on the radio/television/because someone told you they exist. It’s a pretty big deal and my cousin, who I can’t name for a reason, has to deal with a lot of factors. For example, if Mr. President wants to go for a walk, he has to go with him. Because Obama is practically a moving target.

Some maniac in Stanton Heights was kicked out of the military and staged a shooting this weekend. As in, he held his family hostage in the house, called in a case of domestic violence, LAID BY THE DOOR WITH A MACHINE GUN, and then waited until the police came. He picked them off one by one, shooting two in the head and one who knelt to see if he could help them, because ‘ [he] didn’t want them to take away [his] guns.’ You know WHO was going to take away his guns? President Obama. Do you know why? Neither do I. He literally shot, I believe, the total of thirteen people. There was one guy, get this, who had just finished a night shift. He heard the call and went straight there EVEN THOUGH HE WAS ABOUT TO GO OFF DUTY. And he, a veteran of fourteen years, was shot. Shot because he was totally trying to help the two already downed officers. So basically, he got shot in vain because the other two guys were probably already dead.

It just astounds me what people can do now. If we DO want to put limits on guns, I’m all for it. I get why we need them, I do, but at the same time? I think they’re really unnecessary. It would be different if we needed to kill our food. But with supermarkets available and the perfect capability of living comfortably, I see no reason for guns. If you look at any other country, you’d see that the USA’s crime rate is absolutely the highest. SO many people ‘rage’ against the government. And in Canada, they have so little crime that they can literally leave their doors unlocked. So if Obama wants to do away with guns, I’m all for it.

If not for protection for our generation, then for the potential protection of our future children. Or even their children. At some point in time, the USA has to be a safe place to live.

No comments:

Post a Comment